Saturday, November 7, 2015

Google Drive: Set Date/Time to Auto Expire for Shared File/Folder

One of the best features of Google Drive is the ability to communicate and collaborate with other people. When you share files and folders with other people, you must manually take those permissions away. Sometimes you want to be able to share with other people for just a short period of time. The auto expire script keeps you on top of things and does the work for you. 

Steps to activate the script:

Step 1: Click on this link to access the script (it will automatically make a copy for you).


Step 2: In line #3, replace the existing URL with the URL of your shared Drive file or folder.

Step 3: In line #7, replace the existing date and time with the date and time you want the file/folder to automatically remove permissions. Note, the time must be according to the 24 hour clock, i.e. 3:00pm would be 15:00.



Step 4: Click on File, select 'Project Properties,' and choose your time zone.


Step 5: Click on Run, select start, and authorize to run. 



Close the script editor window, sit back, and relax because the script will do all the work for you. 




No comments:

Post a Comment